Secrets of a Shopoholic

I have a serious obsession with clothes. I justify it by saying that I’m a fashion major but the honest truth is that I have a shopping problem, and forever 21 is my weak spot. Some people have a hard time finding things there but personally I know I can find whatever I need and I usually spend hours at a time there. The upside to that is I typically know where everything is at, what the prices are and how much money I want to spend. The downside is I love everything!!! And it’s hard for me to find things I don’t already have. But today I was in luck!. I’m going to the magic tradeshow in Vegas for work so I needed a few versatile outfits that can easily be dressed up or down.  So in order to keep me from buying things that I don’t need I do a little ritual.

For starters I try on every single thing! Even if I picked it up and I think oh this probably won’t fit, I try it on just in case it does and if it doesn’t I want to know why( sometimes it’s the cut, other times it’s the material etc.), that way I know what works for my figure and what doesn’t.

Second: I ask myself what else in my closet this can go with. If a shirt can only go with one or two other items then I won’t buy it, no matter how much I love it. If It goes with a ton of other things in my closet, I try and visualize ways that I can accessorize it to make it look different than what I already have.

Side Note: I’m a visual person, so I have no probably visualizing and conceptualizing something even if it isn’t right in front of me. But if you need hands on, then as your shopping pick up a few accessorizes along the way to try them on with your outfits, or even better bring stuff from home so you know what else it can go with!

Third: I guess the price and decided how much I’m willing to pay for it before I look at the price tag. For example you try on a plain black sweater, and you love it. But reality is its pretty basic and you really only feel like it’s worth maybe 10 bucks, $12 tops. So you look at the tag and you realize its $11.50. Perfect! It’s in your budget for what you think it’s worth. This is the best way to stay on track if you are a budget shopper, or for those who tend to overspend on certain items.

These are just a few little tricks I do to curve my shopping appetite and make sure I don’t overspend! Hope they work for you as well!

XOXO

-Kierra

 

3 comments

  1. parsimoniouspenny · August 24, 2013

    Love shopping tips 😉 Great post!
    Xx
    Penny
    parsimoniouspenny.wordpress.com

    Like

    • aprettythought · August 25, 2013

      Thanks doll!, I have such a shopping addiction! lol I hope these tips work for you!

      Like

  2. bnewsam · April 5, 2014

    Like you, I also visualize how new items will fit in with my wardrobe. It’s fun to use accessories with many outfits to dress them up and mix and match! Sometimes I’ll splurge and get something that is so unique it is a stand-alone, but most of the time I’m pretty good.

    Like

Leave a response!

