Fashion is Freedom, Not a Fad

Fashion is Freedom; not A Fad

I used to think that I had to read the magazines and watch the fashion shows in order to be inspired. But the truth is you can love fashion and still not get inspired by that. I live in LA, where everything is about what celebrity is wearing what, and who shops where. It’s a city that is stifled by celebrities, trends and gossip. Some people thrive in that environment, and although I work in the fashion industry (in downtown La) the culture does absolutely nothing for me. Too a certain extent I have to stay in sync with the trends because my job requires it; but it’s not what motivates me every day and I’ve never been the type to wear something just because “all the celebrities are”. You can stay fashionable and still never pick up a fashion mag or watch a runway show. Fashion is a form of expression; and when you read those mags and what those shows all you are doing Is seeing what the designer is expressing; don’t feel pressured to wear their inspiration. Do what works for you! If it inspires you..great and if it doesn’t then move on.

Hope this inspires you!

-Kierra

One comment

  1. bnewsam · April 2, 2014

    I love to thumb through fashion magazines for ideas and then recreate the looks at less expensive stores. That way I’m on trend, but with my own flair. 🙂

    Like

Leave a response!

