How to wear Houndstooth

Its summer and if you’re going to try to add anything crazy to your wardrobe now is the time to do it. So I decided to buy some houndstooth jeans!! I’ve always like houndstooth as a print although it does tend to be a little loud, if you wear it right it can be the perfect added edge to a look.

I like the way this was styled because the black can mute the print and the outfit looks consistent and edgy. I personally wouldn’t wear it with accessories, but if I did it would be a small studded earing or  a ring or two, but I definitely wouldn’t want to much going on. If you wanted to add some color to this outfit you could easily do it with a bright colored shoe.

Blog: Daintygirl.ca

The other way to wear it is with a solid bright colored shirt. I love how the bright blue pops next to the houndstooth, and it doesn’t take away from the print. However this style does require the right kind of bright color. I would only wear it with a blue, or a purple, and possible a red depending on the intensity. Anything like a yellow or an orange would be clashing too much.

Here is the actual photo of the jeans I bought as well as some others I purchased.

XOXO

Kierra

4 comments

  1. palmtreesandpeas · April 15, 2014

    Love it! I’m pretty much a fan of anything white, black, and black&white.

    Like

  2. aprettythought · April 16, 2014

    It depends on the look your going for. You could do a bright colored pump or you could do a nude. Black or white too

    Like

    • aprettythought · April 16, 2014

      Hahaha I’m biased cuz all I wear is flats!! I wear sandals with everything! But yes it’s all good to wear with flats.

      Like

  3. bnewsam · April 17, 2014

    LOVE houndstooth! I have a jacket in that print. 🙂

    Like

Leave a response!

