Writing 101 Day 1: Unlock The Mind

I signed up for the WordPress Blogging U Challenge; where we are challenged to blog every day and WordPress give us different blog prompts. I thought this would be extremely fun and interesting; a new perspective and maybe a chance for my followers to get to know me a little bit more!

Today’s writing Challenge was: To get started, let’s loosen up. Let’s unlock the mind. Today, take twenty minutes to free write. And don’t think about what you’ll write. Just write.

Lately what’s been on my mind is changing my blog name. I feel like I’ve outgrown it a little bit. My blog was meant to be sort of a niche blog. All about how to dress for tall women or things that I felt I struggled with such as beauty or finding the right pair of shoes. I found that it would be interesting to write about my blogging struggles and hopefully someone could learn tips from them. Then as I started to do more blogging research I realized I needed to hone it in a little bit more. Felt like my thoughts and ideas were too scattered and my blog didn’t have a clear focus. A pretty thought fitted at the time; I was new to the blogging world; I wanted something light and easy but now I take blogging a little bit more seriously. I want to reach a more diverse crowd and now I’m started to grow as a person and I want a blog title that will grow with me. I battle between something catchy like fashion____ or Style this; but then that’s so generic. I love blog names Like “because I’m addicted” or “ Honestly WTF” because those are actually sayings I say myself, making the blog more fun to read. I also want to change my blog name from .org to a .com; I think it will be better for SEO. Even my own mother can’t remember the .org and there is actually my same blog name but .com so it’s quite confusing. I’m also scared of changing my name. I work so hard for the recognition that I have that I don’t want to lose that.

Even though I’m torn I have made the decision to change my blog name; to something that is both catchy and can continue to grow with me over time. I hope my followers stay and that it works out for me! Stay tuned for the name coming soon!

-Kierra

Leave a response!

