4 Tips on Moving in With your Boyfriend

So I normally never do posts like these but lately I have been getting a lot of questions about living with your boyfriend. I been dating my BF for 4 years and we have lived together for 3.5. I thought I would share a few tips that I’ve learned throughout our experience!

  1. Have the right approach: One of the biggest mistakes couples make is saying” I know moving in with my boyfriend is such a BIG DEAL”. I truly believe it’s only a big deal if that’s what you choose to make it. David and I took a very lighthearted approach to the whole experience. We were both equally annoyed with our current roommates so we decided to get a place on our own. We had no clue how it was going to work out but we just went for it! Instead of making everything dramatic we kept it very fun and it made it so much more enjoyable.
  1. True meaning of quality time: A constant struggle for people who live together is the amount of quality time spent. It gets very easy to slip into “we watched TV on the couch” and “I just saw you this morning” as a form of quality time together. Sharing the same space with one another and investing time into each other are two totally different things. I recommend still doing a date night; movie night at the house, take the dog to the beach. Whatever it is still make sure to have fun together; outside of your daily routine!
  1. Have your own space: Living with your partner means you practically share everything! Your house has to suit his needs and yours and sometimes that can be frustrating. I truly believe in the value of having a space in the house that is just yours. I live in a one bedroom apartment so it was hard for me to develop my own little haven; but I’m currently in search of a vanity to put in the bedroom (see a post about that here!). David has a desk with all of his music supplies and tech stuff that he loves. It’s his little area that just has his things; and I will soon have my vanity that will be my little area!
  1. Finances: Establish financial roles before you move in! Do we split all the bills together? Who buys the groceries? Are we going to have a shared account? These are the type of questions you should be asking yourself; because money can be a huge problem if not addressed properly. Financial responsibility and expectations need to crystal clear!

Hope these tips help you! They definitely have served me well. If you are more interested in posts like these  let me know! or if you have specific questions feel free to ask!

Leave a response!

