Makeup Monday: 3 Myths about Makeup Removers

img alt=" gabrielle union, washing face, dark skin"

I used to think that makeup removers were a waste of money. Why don’t people just use a towel? Well obviously my face didn’t seem to have my same sentiment and broke out like crazy after not removing my makeup properly. I figured I would let you guys in on all the little things about makeup removers that I learned to not be so true!

Warm Damp Cloth: At first I was using a warm wash cloth, but between the liquid foundation, and waterproof eyeliner not everything was coming off. It did work well to remove the first layer of makeup and would be a solid alternative for days you run out of makeup removers. But I definitely wouldn’t recommend making it a habit.

You can use your normal facial cleanser: I’m currently using Clinique 3 step system and as the name suggests it has 3 different steps. The first being soap (I’m sure that’s not the official name for it but for now let’s just say it is). The second portion is the cleanser and that does help but you have to use a lot of it. I had to use three cotton balls and more cleanser before I was able to remove everything. My 3 step system was expensive so I wouldn’t recommend wasting most of it removing makeup.

That you only need one: the idea is that you only need one type of makeup remover. But I’m learning that that isn’t true. I don’t wear a lot of makeup; in fact my makeup routine is fairly natural. So I usually don’t have a lot to remove; but with any good makeup you need an even stronger remover. I’m currently using Neutrogena wipes and while I love them they can never get off all of my eyeliner and mascara. I read at lovecatsinc to try Benefit they’re real remover. So I will definitely be trying that soon! I also was at mac this weekend and was using there makeup removers. Love them! I may go back and buy those as well!

XO

Kierra

8 comments

  1. brooksmakeup · June 30, 2014

    Great tips. I’ve recently been using coconut oil to remove my makeup and it works really well!

    Abi x
    http://www.brooksmakeup.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • plus+beauty27 · July 2, 2014

      I am going to be trying to use some coconut oil too! Has so many uses! 🙂

      Like

    • aprettythought · July 3, 2014

      Whatttt?? Ive never heard of that before! So cool!

      Like

  2. Akaleistar · June 30, 2014

    Great advice! Makeup remover really is a step you shouldn’t skip.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Munachi · July 1, 2014

    I’ve never thought about the using more than one type if remover. My waterproof eyeliner and mascara are so difficult to remove with the wipes I have now I’ll probably get a second type. Thanks for the tips.

    Munachi
    GlamorousRevelation.blogspot.com

    Like

    • aprettythought · July 3, 2014

      Thats my exact same problem too. I need a special one just for my eyeliner and mascara!
      Thanks for reading!

      Like

  4. TashaStylez · July 2, 2014

    Reblogged this on .

    Like

  5. plus+beauty27 · July 2, 2014

    Great post! 🙂

    Like

Leave a response!

