Its Not Your Content; Its Your Title

Ever read those posts that say “What to wear when its way to hot out”, and as your reading its 90 degrees outside, your hair is a mess, and you want to keel over from heat exhaustion? Suddenly that post looks pretty gosh darn appealing, doesn’t it? As a new blogger it took me a long time to figure out what made blog posts so interesting. Why does someone want to click on my page? When they are on my page how do I lure them in so that they actually want to read past the first line? I’m still figuring some of that out but here is what I’ve learned thus far

click me

Mastering the clickability: First off is clickability even a word? Anywho…your title has to be a tease. It should be relatable, easy to understand, and intriguing all at the same time( a lot I know).  The best way to explain it is to get you reader to say” Oooooh I want to know”,  or “OMG I say that too!”Some examples of this are

  1. You wont believe who I saw
  2. I’ll Have what she’s having.

tell meInformation: People like to be in the KNOW. Tell them something interesting and they will keep coming back for more. This is the reason why “How to’s”, “Ways to do” etc are so popular. Some of my most popular posts are “ Ways to style a graphic tee” and “How to make your blog more personal”.

ballin-on-a-budget_dormtainmentBudget friendly: There is not a single person out there that does not like saving money. Even the most high maintenance and vain person would still buy a pair of louboutin’s on clearance. Blog posts that explain ways to save, penny pinching fashion, ballin on a budget, or anything money based are extremely popular. For that college student broke freelancer, or just the girl looking for a good bargain, you’ve completely won their heart. Another good way to dress up “Budget” is DIY posts. Don’t want to buy it? Here is how to do it yourself!? With the world revolving around Pinterest and Etsy, posts like these can greatly increase your traffic!

I’m starting a segment on my blog called “Pretty Thrifty: Where I do a roundup of all the beauty supplies I bought and a dupe list of where to get the same thing but more affordable!

fact-or-fiction-1lwfz07Facts: This is what I like to call guides to life. Things that aren’t based on your opinion, or what fashion is currently trending. It is simply the truth. For example my “Ultimate shopping guide for tall women-Jeans”. In this post I mention several different denim brands that have jeans with longer inseams built for women with long legs. I also mention Gap Inc. which has a line called “Tall”. These posts come in handy because they relate to every tall woman. This audience may not be into your beauty posts, or you’re outfit of the day, but they will come back for informational posts like these.

As you can see naming the blog post is just part of the battle. You have to have the content to back it up. But no one will ever see it if your title isnt interesting enough. Give your reader something they just cant resist!

XO

Kierra

3 comments

  1. kellyann618 · July 10, 2014

    Such great tips! I’ll remember these as I’m trying to get more involved with my blogging. Also, can’t wait to read your Pretty Thrifty Segment! XO

    Like

  2. Akaleistar · July 11, 2014

    Great advice! Pretty Thrifty sounds like a great segment 🙂

    Like

  3. sammyneiswander · July 13, 2014

    I’ve nominated you for a Liebster Award! http://sincerelysammy.wordpress.com/2014/07/14/the-liebster-award/ I saw that you’ve been recently nominated, so I understand if you don’t want to make another post so soon, but I thought I’d nominate you anyways because I’ve been loving your blog. 🙂

    Like

Leave a response!

