Why I Blog (TAG)

Thought It would be fun to do a why I blog tag! Feel free to tag yourself if you like!

What are you working on?

Wow where do I even start with answering this question! I’m currently in the process of rebranding my entire blog. New designs, new and more focused content, new marketing strategies. It’s all quite overwhelming! Some of the biggest changes will be in blog design, plus I have a huge surprise coming soon (which will be announced soon!) I’m also thinking about getting a new camera and lighting equipment, I heard the Canon Rebel is a great DSLR for beginners! Also trying to master social media and expand so if you have any tips feel free to comment!

How does your work differ from others in its genre? 

I think my personality is what draws people to my blog, not necessarily the genre it’s in. I talk about lifestyle, beauty, and fashion and I can also offer an inside perspective on things because I work in the fashion industry. My content is relatable and that’s what keeps people coming back for more!

Why do you write what you do?

My blog initially started out as a way to relate to girls who had a hard time finding clothes the way that I did. I wear a size 11 shoe, have extremely long legs that are difficult to dress, I have a large chest, and the list goes on. However as I’ve found my voice and discovered my passion in blogging I now write for totally different reasons. I love logging my life events, with my most clear and raw emotions and what’s even better is when you find others that can relate! The community surrounding fashion is what makes me so eager to write about it. Some of my favorite posts to write are when I’m blogging as though I’m talking! I feel like I’m speaking directly to my readers.

 How does your writing process work?

Mine is complicated-ish. First I read other blogs, that’s usually where I get my inspiration. I keep all of my ideas on Evernote, currently because I haven’t found my perfect journal yet. I have a note that says Blogging Posts and I have each labeled under lifestyle, beauty, fashion and blogging tips. Then I try to write it all out on my editorial calendar. So Monday will be a lifestyle post, Tuesday blogging tips etc. That way I give different things each day! I blog every day after work, which never quite goes as smoothly as I would like. My blog posts never take long to write because I already have a direction that I want them to go. The visual aspects and flow of it all comes quite naturally it’s just hard to find the time to actually do it!

If you like this tag and would like to do the same on your page feel free to do it!

XO

Kierra

One comment

  1. Heidi D. · August 5, 2014

    Love, love, love this post! It’s so insightful to see how the creative process works for other bloggers. Thank you for sharing this. Xo

    Heidi D.
    http://www.wishesandreality.com

    Like

Leave a response!

