The Questions Every Blogger Hates To Answer

Every time I read any tips about becoming a successful blogger it always starts off with a list of questions you need to ask yourself. You need to understand you niche, who your reader is, what you have to offer that makes you different….and the list goes on. It’s really overwhelming. I mean I want the success and all but I didn’t realize it meant I had to so much self-reflecting. I took two weeks off from blogging (to enjoy my vacation in Hawaii)and it gave me some time to think of some answers for these questions. In light of me rebranding my blog I figured I would share it with you and hopefully give you insight on how to answer these questions too.

Why are you starting a blog: Some people start a blog knowing exactly what they want to talk about. As you start to engage with other readers, see what other blogs you love are doing, participate in twitter chats, you will absorb information and the “ why you blog” question will not be so black and white. Through the rush of it all you should give you reader something to hold on to, whether it be a consistent schedule, a good laugh or two on your weekly Friday posts, or the fact that they can always count on you to have the latest beauty tips. If you don’t know what you’re doing right away, or if you’re learning as you go then tell your readers that; after all its yours…you can do what you want with it!

What is your blogging niche: I actually really hate this rule of blogging. As with any business you have to know your audience, but the beauty about blogging is the ability for it to take form that is different from most corporate structures. Some blogs are just ramblings, or an online diary. I believe that you need vision and know how to execute that vision; but it should be a creative experience. Blogging in itself is a niche, I think the only thing that makes you different is how you take it and make it your own.

What are you blogging about: Honestly I have no freaking clue. I start something, people like it so I keep going with it. Too a certain extent my audience dictates what I write about, the rest is usually me sharing things I’ve learned. Blogging tips that I’ve had to learn the hard way, or fashion do’s and don’ts based on my experience in school and working in the industry. It’s a little bit of what I already know and a little bit of what I’m learning.

I love blogging, and it would be amazing to make this my full career one day, but I don’t believe that there is a specific formula to blogging success. Don’t overwhelm yourself with trying to have all the answers right away, let your blog evolve and see where it takes you! I’d love to hear some of your answers so feel free to leave them below!

 

2 comments

  1. Ella · August 12, 2014

    Love this post.
    And I definitely agree about the niche thing 🙂 You make your blog unique!

    XX

    Like

  2. Opinionated Man · August 12, 2014

    I have no niche either! Must be why I am failing. 😉 Nice post!

    Like

Leave a response!

